But we never got to find out because the USGA used Rule 14.5.
With a winning purse of $12 million, four players were tied for the lead around noon on Sunday, at 3 over par: Daniel Berger, Tony Finau, Brooks Koepka, and Dustin Johnson.
He putted his fifth stroke, sending the ball past the hole to the right. "I haven't necessarily thought of hitting it back towards the hole". "I was playing it worse than most, and I wanted to get to the next hole eventually, which I did".
Mickelson finished 11 over for the round, which put him at 17-over for the tournament. And I would gladly take the two shots over continuing that display.
"I don't mean to disrespect anybody", the four-times major victor said. I know it's a two-shot penalty. It's certainly not meant that way. "Sometimes in these situations it is just easier to take the two shots and move on".
Mickelson insisted he was not frustrated by the more hard hole locations in the third round.
"Phil really did want to understand how the rule operates because he didn't want to - frankly, as he said to me: 'I don't want to play in this championship if I should have been disqualified, ' " Davis said (via the AP). "Everybody's got to play it". The 5-time major champion then struck the ball back at the hole, saw it lip out, then marked it before playing his next shot. "When [players] do it, it's on a very large stage and there's so much immediate reaction on Twitter and social media, it can overwhelm", Amy Mickelson said. But he shrugged off a suggestion that he did damage to his reputation as one of the game's most popular players. "I've never seen anything like that from a world-class player in my life".
"You know it's not his finest moment", said Amy, "but hopefully he'll learn from it".
Davis revealed Mickelson had telephoned him to clarify whether or not he should have been disqualified.
"Phil didn't purposefully deflect or stop the ball", USGA official John Bodenhamer explained, adding that the determination was unanimous.
"I didn't feel like going back and forth", he said. Rather than wait to see where the ball might end up, Mickelson literally ran after the ball and hit it again as it was still moving. "It's just one of them things that just happened".
"If he acted like that all the time, I think that's different", she said. When you ask people who they're rooting for, Phil's name always comes up. I don't know if it would have saved me a shot or not. For as long as they've been in this together, Saturday night at the U.S. Open was like nothing they'd experienced before.
The ball was still moving when Mickelson swung at it. "It was unusual, no one ever has those thoughts, it just happens".
"I said, "That is one of the strangest things I have ever seen" and started laughing, and said "sorry" about laughing", said Johnston, a jovial Englishman with the nickname Beef. Not exactly what you'd expect from one of the giants of the sport in the U.S. Open.
Brooks Koepka Wins Back-to-Back U.S. Open Titles
It's odd to me that he hasn't racked up more Ws, but he's only 28 and spent a good chunk of his career in Europe. There's only four of them per year. "It was something I didn't think I could do from where I was".