RS polls: Abhishek Singhvi, Kumar Ketkar among 10 Congress candidates

Mayawati had recently resigned from the Rajya Sabha

After re-nominating Union ministers Arun Jaitley, Ravishankar Prasad, Prakash Javadekar, JP Nadda and Dharmendra Pradhan last week, BJP's fresh list includes a good mix of new faces and party veterans.

With the BJP's tally in the state assembly only being 99, it has the strength to get only two candidates elected.

There will be 59 vacancies in the Rajya Sabha in April, including 17 from the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and 12 from the Congress party.

Prominent leaders like GVL Narshima Rao who is the party's spokesperson and Anil Jain, National General Secretary of BJP will contest from Uttar Pradesh along with Sakal Deep Rajbhar and Harnath Singh Yadav. He dismissed the remarks of former Bihar Congress president Ashok Choudhary, who is now in JD-U, that a split was imminent in the Congress.

While Mandavia and Rupala are official BJP nominees, the Congress has fielded Amiben Yagnik and tribal leader Naran Rathwa.

Days after senior BJP MP Vinay Katiyar suggested that "Muslims should not stay in the country", the saffron party has made a decision to set him aside and instead give Rajya Sabha ticket to two Samajwadi party turncoats.

Saroj Pandey, who had lost the Lok Sabha polls in 2014, has been fielded from Chhattisgarh, Madan Lal Saini from Rajasthan, Lt Gen D P Vats (retd) from Haryana, Kailash Soni and Ajay Pratap Singh from Madhya Pradesh, Chandrasekhar from Karnataka and Sameer Oraon from Jharkhand, the BJP statement read. Monday is the last day for filing of nomination for the Rajya Sabha election.

While, Desam Party (TDP), Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS), Rashtriya Janta Dal (RJD), Janta Dal (United) were the other parties who announced the names of the candidates for Rajya Sabha.

In Karnataka, L. Hanumanthaiah, Syed Nasir Hussain, and G.C. Chandrashekar (all Congress), Rajeev Chandrasekhar (BJP), and B.M. Farook (JD-S) filed their papers.

While Singhvi will represent the party from West Bengal, Niranbhai Rathwa and Amee Yajnik have been selected over many other seniors from Gujarat. BJP leaders have claimed that Ms Rahatkar is a dummy candidate and has been asked to file her nomination only as a precautionary measure. Kerala PCC general secretary and former legislator Babu Prasad also filed his nomination as candidate of the Congress-led UDF Opposition.



Latest news

US imposes more anti-dumping duties on Canadian newsprint
And Bruce Ralston, B.C.'s Jobs and Trade Minister, said he will work with Catalyst and Ottawa to help combat the "unfair tariffs". The US announcement came as Canada's Foreign Minister, Chrystia Freeland, was in Washington to discuss bilateral trade relations.

Stephens Reaffirms "Buy" Rating for Brookdale Senior Living (BKD)
Hsbc Public Ltd Liability Com reported 173,353 shares or 0% of all its holdings. 12,175 are held by Registered Investment Advisor. The Land & Buildings Investment Management Llc holds 5.00 million shares with $53.01 million value, up from 3.21M last quarter.

First Industrial Realty Trust, Inc. (FR) Reaches $28.03 Formed H&S; Artesian Resources
Shares of First Industrial Realty Trust closed the previous trading session at 28.37 down -0.45 1.56% with shares trading hands. The Edgepoint Investment Group Inc holds 1.32 million shares with $2.99 million value, down from 3.04 million last quarter.

Slovak Prime Minister Ready to Leave Office Amid Protests Over Killed Journalist
Interior Minister Robert Kalinak resigned two days ago, bowing to pressure from a coalition partner, the Most-Hid party.

Kiwanis Egg Hunt Set
Exchange Club Easter Egg Hunt: Kids can hunt for eggs free at the 71st annual Easter Egg Hunt at Doyle Park in Santa Rosa. CHOC-A-HOLICS we've found your next challenge and it's in the form of an Easter egg that's bigger then your head.

Other news