Anxious moments for Congress as Rathwa files RS nomination in Gujarat

BJP releases second list of 18 candidates for Rajya Sabha polls

Gujarat Congress president Bharatsinh Solanki expressed confidence that both their official candidates would win the RS polls. The charge sheet also includes failure of the prime minister to intervene in the Mahadayi issue, shifting of CRPF centre from Taralu to Uttar Pradesh, BJP leaders' criticism of Karnataka flag, etc.

The last-minute surprise entry of famous Ghaziabad businessman Anil Agarwal and two other candidates on the last day of filing nomination on Monday is expected to throw some backroom negotiation, hectic political activities and possible cross-polling on the day of the election.

With 99 MLAs in a 182-member Assembly, the BJP can easily win two seats. "This takes the total number of candidates in the fray to 14, with SP's Jaya Bachchan and BSP's Bhimrao Ambedkar having already filed nominations earlier", returning officer Poonam Saxena told PTI.

In Bihar, there are six vacancies. Senior UP BJP leader JPS Rathore when contacted said, "In this Rajya Sabha elections, a candidate needs 37 first preference votes to emerge victorious".

Senior Congress leader Ahmed Patel won the Rajya Sabha election from Gujarat in August past year by a narrow margin. With BJP's oldest ally Shiv Sena announcing a split in the alliance for the 2019 Lok Sabha polls, the party believes that Rane's presence will strengthen its base in the state.

The Congress cleared the names of 10 candidates for Rajya Sabha polls in seven states, including Abhishek Manu Singhvi from West Bengal and senior journalist Kumar Ketkar from Maharashtra.

"There is infighting in the Congress and they are confused about their candidates. This might split the votes of Congress MLAs", Gujarat Deputy Chief Minister Nitin Patel said. BJP general secretary Bhupendra Yadav is contesting from Rajasthan.

The saffron party is assured of three seats from Maharashtra this time, so it has chose to field HRD minister Javadekar and former state chief minister Narayan Rane along with V. Muraleedharan, who is a former Kerala BJP party chief.

Rajeev Chandrasekhar and Sameer Urnav will represent Karnataka while Ajay Pratap Singh and Kailash Sonil are from Madhya Pradesh.

In terms of caste equation, the party has chose to field Naseer Hussain, a minority community leader from Ballari, L. Hanumanthaiah, a dalit from Bengaluru Rural and G.C. Chandrashekar a Vokkaliga from Hassan.



Latest news

Dallas Cowboys CB Orlando Scandrick reportedly requests release
Dallas has young corners in Jourdan Lewis , Chidobe Awuzie and Anthony Brown and are moving Byron Jones back to corner this year. Over his career he hauled in eight interceptions, forced seven fumbles and recorded 11.5 sacks.

Ziopharm Oncology In (ZIOP): Stock in Spotlight
Over the last 5 days, ZIOPHARM Oncology, Inc .'s shares returned 9.09% and in the past one month the figure appeared at 10.27%. Moreover, Cornerstone Cap Mgmt Limited has 0.03% invested in Regis Corporation (NYSE:RGS) for 266,565 shares.

'Bookkeeper of Auschwitz' Oskar Groening dies before jail
He was sentenced to four years for his role as an accessory to the murder of 300,000 people at the Auschwitz concentration camp. German magazine Der Spiegel said Groening died on Friday but prison authorities had yet to receive a death certificate.

London’s Medical Startups Challenge Welcomes a New Judge, Max Polyakov
MBios is a joint project of Innovation House and the Ukrainian Medical Association of the United Kingdom (UMAUK). Such kind of challenges provides the participants with an opportunity to present their projects to the world.

Celebrities Who Suffer With Chronic Diseases
Now if that isn’t the epitome of what a BFF is, I don’t know what is! Selena continues to be on chronic medication. There is also a huge list of celebrities past like famous painter vincent Van Gogh who suffered with this disease.

Other news